• Home
  • Login
  • Welcome to the Staff Intranet

Membership of Academic Board

Session 2022/23


Ex officio Members

Principal & Vice-Chancellor [Convenor]

Professor Andrea Nolan


Professor Nick Antonopoulos (Vice Principal Research & Innovation and Deputy Vice Chancellor)

Naomi Graham (Vice-Principal, International)

Professor Nazira Karodia​ (Vice Principal Learning & Teaching and Deputy Vice Chancellor​)


Deans of School

Dr Gary Hutchison, School of Applied Sciences

Dr Diane Maclean, School of Arts and Creative Industries

Professor Christine Cross​, Business School

Professor Peter Andras, School of Computing, Engineering & the Built Environment

Professor Alison Machin, School of Health & Social Care


Senior Officer Responsible for Student Administration and Support

Dr Steven Logie


Student Representatives

The President of Edinburgh Napier Students' Association, or a sabbatical officer of ENSA nominated by the President

Vishal Khattar Co-President for Education & Employability​


One student from each campus elected by ENSA


John Martin



To be confirmed



To be confirmed


Elected Members

Two members of academic staff elected by and from each School

School of Applied Sciences

Dr Samantha Campbell Casey

Dr Fiona McQueen


School of Arts & Creative Industries

Dr John Hails

Dr Kirsten MacLeod


Business School

Dr Luca Mora

Dr Xavier Pierron


School of Computing, Engineering & the Built Environment

Dr Simon Wells*

Dr Nick Pitropakis

Dr Achille Fonzone*

Dr Kenny Leitch


School of Health & Social Care

Dr Rosalind Haddrill

Dr Michael Leavitt​


Two members elected by and from the Professoriate

Prof Peter Robertson

Prof Austyn Snowden


Two members elected by and from the School Heads of Learning & Teaching

Dr Jacqueline Brodie

Bryden Stillie


Two members elected by and from the School Heads of Research

Dr Graham Wright

Dr Christof Backhaus


Two members elected by and from the Senior Officers Responsible for Quality Enhancement

Dr Peter Chapman

Dr Melanie Leggate



In Attendance

Secretary to University Court

Michael Greenhalgh

Senior Officer Responsible for Information Services

Claire Taylor


Clerk to the Committee

David Cloy, Head of Governance & Risk



* Note: These members elected from the School of Computing and the School of Engineering & the Built Environment are serving out the final year of their terms of office during the transition to the joint school, as approved by Academic Board on 03 June 2022 and University Court on 20 June 2022


Last update at 14 February 2023