• Home
  • Login
  • Welcome to the Staff Intranet

​​​​​Honorary Awards & Visiting Titles Committee​​
Lorraine Kelly, Honorary Doctor of Arts, with Pauline Miller-Judd, Dean of Arts and Creative Industries

Edinburgh Napier University gives special Honorary Awards to distinguished individuals who, through their work or other commitments, embody the values of Edinburgh Napier University.  


The decision to give an award and the precise title of the degree currently rests with the University Court on recommendations from the University's Honorary Awards ​and Visiting Titles Committee and the Academic Board.

A list of previous Honorary Graduates is available here.


​The Honorary Awards Committee and Visiting Titles Committee were merged in 2022.  The regulations for the commitee and procedures for the award of honorary degrees and conferment of emeritus and visiting titles are available ​here​.

The Committee meets twice a year, normally in November and May. 


Membership of the Committee 


​Principal & Vice Chancellor (Convenor)


Professor Andrea Nolan
Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research and Innovation)Professor Nick Antonopoulos
Deputy Vice Chancellor (Learning and Teaching)Professor Nazira Karodia
Dean RepresentativeProfessor Peter Andras
Vice Principal InternationalNaomi Graham
Director of Marketing and External RelationsDr Geoff Day
Lay Court MemberProfessor Lesley Yellowlees
School representatives

Professor Liz Aston (School of Applied Sciences)

Professor Max Chipulu (Business School)

Vacant (School of Health and Social Care) - please contact Interim Dean - Ruth Paterson

Professor Emma Hart (School of Computing, Engineering and Built Environment)

Professor Vassilis Charisis (School of Arts and Creative Industries)​

Who to nominate?  The University constitution makes provision for the conferment of Honorary Degrees. These are awarded to persons of distinction or eminence in a particular field who, through their work and/or other activity, embody the values of Edinburgh Napier University

How to nominate?  In the first instance, please discuss your suggestion with a member of the committee or a member from the relevant School Leadership Team.   The School will then decide if they wish to take the nomination forward to the committee and prepare the paperwork for submission.


When to nominate?  You can make a suggestion anytime as the School Leadership team discuss potential nominations on a monthly basis.


Can Professional Services staff nominate?:  Yes of course, all nominations go through Schools now as they will maintain and develop the relationship once the individual graduates.  Please contact a member of the committee relevant to the nomination to discuss your idea or contact the clerk who will put you in contact the correct person.


I would like to nominate someone as a Visiting Professor, Visiting Associate Professor, Visiting Lecturer, Visiting Senior Fellow or Visiting Fellow how do I do this?- Please speak to the Dean of School who will consider this further.


Where can I find the application forms?  As the nominations are submitted by the School, please speak to the School representative listed above who will be able to help. ​