• Home
  • Login
  • Welcome to the Staff Intranet
YOU ARE HERE: Skip Navigation LinksEdinburgh Napier Staff Intranet > Service Depts > School Support Service

​School Support Service 

Part of the People & Services Directorate, the School Support Service is the locally embedded professional service within the university’s five academic schools.  Centrally managed and locally delivered, the service is at the heart of the student lifecycle, the provision lifecycle and provides the local support required to help our schools operate effectively.   


Our Six Service Principle​s


  • Be accessible, efficient and responsive for the end user

  • Be transparent and supportive to our Schools

  • Delivery consistency and adhere to regulatory compliance

  • Encourage efficiency and deliver excellent value for money

  • Ensure resilience in capacity and capability

  • Encourage targeted, proactive engagement with service users

Our Teams

Our service is structured around the following teams.  On each of our campuses we have three teams, reporting to the local Head of School Support.

  • Programme & Student Support (PASS): primarily supporting the student lifecycle and also known locally as ‘school offices’.
  • Quality & Accreditation (Q&A): primarily supporting the provision lifecycle and the requirements of the quality framework.
  • Business & Leadership Teams (BLT): primarily supporting the academic community.


The service also has central teams

  • Student Administration: primarily supporting large student focussed activities such as registration, examinations, graduation, records and coordination of timetabling.
  • Curriculum Management: primarily supporting the university’s curriculum management environment.
  • Graduate Apprenticeship: primarily supporting the processes associated with our GA students
  • Student Centre & Campus Receptions: primarily operating the Merchiston Student Centre and the three campus receptions (iPoints)

More information about our Teams can be found here​.

Our People​


Senior leaders within the School Support Service are:


Dr Steven Logie

Director of Student Services & Academic Registrar

Lesley Jackson

Head of School Support (SCEBE)

Kath Twaddell

Head of School Support (SACI)

Julie Dickson

Head of School Support (TBS)

Sara Chrzaszcz

Head of School Support (SAS / SHSC)

Louise McElhone

Head of Student Administration