• Home
  • Login
  • Welcome to the Staff Intranet

Introducing RIO

 

The Research and Innovation Office (RIO) supports research activity across the University. Led by Professor Jessie Kennedy, we have a dedicated team assisting academics and research students across the University.


Our address

Research and Innovation Office
Edinburgh Napier University
Room H18, Merchiston Campus
10 Colinton Road
Edinburgh EH10 5DT


RIO Leadership 

Dean of Research and Innovation: Prof Jessie Kennedy - ext 2772 - j.kennedy@napier.ac.uk  

Head of Research and Innovation Office: Norman Turner - ext 6362 - n.turner@napier.ac.uk

RIO are working with Professorial Leads across the Schools in key Research and Innovation areas to provide academic leadership and assist in close collaboration between RIO and the academic community. We also work closely with the School Directors of Research to ensure we are providing the appropriate support required for the Schools and to ensure consistency in implementation of research initiatives and processes.

 

General Enquiries

For all general enquiries or if you are uncertain who is best to contact, please get in touch with our general support staff who will be very glad to help:

RIO AdministratorAngela McNaughton - ext 6302 - a.mcnaughton@napier.ac.uk

RIO AssistantSandra Reid - ext 6415 - s.reid@napier.ac.uk

 

Business Engagement

Arts & Creative Industries: Jamie Brogan - ext 3211 - j.brogan@napier.ac.uk

Business: TBC

Computing: Jamie Brogan - ext 3211 - j.brogan@napier.ac.uk

Engineering & Built Environment: Jamie Brogan - ext 3211 - j.brogan@napier.ac.uk

Applied Sciences: Fiona Mason - ext 3357 - f.mason@napier.ac.uk

Health & Social Care: Fiona Mason - ext 3357 - f.mason@napier.ac.uk

Contracts: Mairi Muir - ext 2224 - M.Muir@napier.ac.uk

 

External Funding (R&I Managers)

We can help with all aspects of winning and managing funding. Each School has a dedicated Research and Innovation Manager, who should be the first point of contact for funding and Research Management System related enquiries.

 

External Funding, Business: Ian Anderson - ext 2285 - i.anderson@napier.ac.uk

Arts & Creative Industries: Carol Johnstone - ext 6300​ - C.Johnstone@napier.ac.uk

Engineering & Built Environment: Ian Anderson - ext 2285 - i.anderson@napier.ac.uk

Applied Sciences: Nina Hakanpaa - ext 6526 - n.hakanpaa@napier.ac.uk

Health & Social Care: Paula Stevenson - ext  6009 - ​P.Stevenson@napier.ac.uk

Computing: Carol Johnstone - ext 6300 - C.Johnstone@napier.ac.uk

 
​SEBE ​SOC ​SACI ​SHSC SAS ​Business
Ian Anderson​ ​​Carol Johnstone Carol Johnstone​ Paula Stevenson Nina Hakanpaa Ian Anderson
 

Research Information Management

Leader: Lindsay Ramage - ext 2946 - l.ramage@napier.ac.uk

Senior Content ProducerCallum Egan - ext 2790 - callum.egan@napier.ac.uk​

Research & Innovation Support Officer: Wendy Steven - ext 6440 - w.steven@napier.ac.uk

Policy Officer: Ceri Bain - ext 6368 - c.bain@napier.ac.uk

 

Researcher Development

Researcher Development Manager: Grainne Barkess - ext 3341 - g.barkess@napier.ac.uk

Integrity: Ali Stapley - ext 2269 - A.Stapley@napier.ac.uk

Public Engagement Officer: Dawn Smith - ext 3354 - dawn.smith@napier.ac.uk

 

Research Degrees

Research Degrees Officer: Annie Ogletree - ext 5032 - a.ogletree@napier.ac.uk

Research Degrees Assistants:
Karen Henderson - ext 2606 - k.henderson@napier.ac.uk (Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday)
Judith Wilson: ext 2606 - j.wilson@napier.ac.uk (Thursday and Friday)

 
 
 ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​