• Home
  • Login
  • Welcome to the Staff Intranet

​​Introducing Research, Innovation and Enterprise

 

Edinburgh Napier's Research, Innovation and Enterprise (RIE) supports research activity across the University. Led by Professor Nick Antonopoulos (pictured right), we have a dedicated team assisting academics and research students across the University.


RIE Leadership 

Vice Principal of Research, Innovation and Enterprise: Prof Nick Antonopoulos - ext 2425 - N.Antonopoulos@napier.ac.uk

Head of Knowledge Exchange: Linda Wallace - L.Wallace@napier.ac.uk

Head of Research Funding and Services (acting)Grainne Barkess - ext 3341 - g.barkess@napier.ac.uk


RIE Leadership team.jpgRIE work with Professorial Leads across the Schools in key Research, Innovation and Enterprise areas to provide academic leadership and assist in close collaboration between RIE and the academic community. We also work closely with the School Directors of Research to ensure we are providing the appropriate support required for the Schools and to ensure consistency in implementation of research initiatives and processes.

 

General Enquiries

For all general enquiries or if you are uncertain who is best to contact, please get in touch with our general support staff who will be very glad to help:

RIE AdministratorAngela McNaughton - ext 6302 - a.mcnaughton@napier.ac.uk

RIE AssistantSandra Reid - ext 6415 - s.reid@napier.ac.uk

 

Business Development Managers

Arts & Creative Industries: Cathy Higginson - C.Higginson@napier.ac.uk & Jane Ning – J.Ning@napier.ac.uk

Business: Matt Burdge – M.Burdge@napier.ac.uk

ComputingCathy Higginson - C.Higginson@napier.ac.uk​ ​

Engineering & Built Environment: Jane Ning - J.Ning@napier.ac.uk

Applied Sciences: Maggie Reid - ext 2778 - M.Reid@napier.ac.uk

Health & Social Care: Maggie Reid - ext 2778 - M.Reid@napier.ac.uk

IP & Commercialisation: Fiona Mason – ext. 3357 – F.Mason@napier.ac.uk

 

Research Funding Manager​s 

We can help with all aspects of winning and managing funding. Each School has a dedicated Research, Innovation and Enterprise Manager, who should be the first point of contact for funding and Research Management System related enquiries.

 

Business: Ian Anderson - ext 4304 - i.anderson@napier.ac.uk 

SACI: Carol Johnstone - ext 5017 - C.Johnstone@napier.ac.uk 

SEBE Sharon McGettrick - ext 6300 - S.McGettrick@napier.ac.uk 

Applied Sciences: Nina Hakanpaa - ext 6526 - n.hakanpaa@napier.ac.uk 

Health & Social Care: Paula Stevenson - ext  2285 - ​p.stevenson@napier.ac.uk ​

Computing: Carol Johnstone - ext 5017​ - C.Johnstone@napier.ac.uk 

 
​SEBE ​SOC ​SACI ​SHSC SAS ​Business
Sharon McGettrick ​​Carol Johnstone Carol Johnstone​ Ian Anderson Nina Hakanpaa Ian Anderson
 

Research Information Management

Head of Research Governance: Lindsay Ramage - ext 2946 - l.ramage@napier.ac.uk

REF Manager: Ceri Bain - ext 6368 - c.bain@napier.ac.uk

REF Officers: Alison McIlveen - ext 6142 - A.McIlveen@napier.ac.uk
Elaine Lambie - ext 6366 - e.lambie@napier.ac.uk

 

External Projects

External Projects Manager: 

Contracts: Alistair Wallace - ext 2447 - a.wallace@napier.ac.uk

External Projects Officers:
Business School: Shona Sharp: ext - 6524 - s.sharp@napier.ac.uk
School of Arts & Creative Industries: Wendy Steven - ext 6440 - w.steven@napier.ac.uk
School of Computing: Debbie Ratcliffe: ext - 2448 - d.ratcliffe@napier.ac.uk
School of Engineering & Built Environment: Sheila Sutherland: ext - 3325 - s.sutherland@napier.ac.uk, or
Jill Williamson: j.williamson@napier.ac.uk
School of Applied Sciences: Colin Scott: c.scott2@napier.ac.uk
School of Health & Social care: Shona Sharp: ext - 6524 - s.sharp@napier.ac.uk

 

Researcher Development

Head of Researcher Development: Grainne Barkess - ext 3341 - g.barkess@napier.ac.uk

Researcher Developer: Vani Naik (she/her) - v.naik@napier.ac.uk

Research and Innovation Administrator: researchintegrity@napier.ac.uk​

Public Engagement Officer: Dawn Smith - ext 3354 - dawn.smith@napier.ac.uk

 

Research Degrees

Research Degrees Officer: Annie Ogletree - ext 5032 - a.ogletree@napier.ac.uk

Research Degrees Administrator
Karen Henderson  - k.henderson@napier.ac.uk (Monday to Wednesday)

Research Degrees Assistants:
Ingrid Omand-Good  - I.Omand-Good@napier.ac.uk (Monday to Wednesday)


Business Engagement and Communications (Research, Innovation & Enterprise)

Business Engagement and Communications Manager: Aoife O'Sullivan – a.osullivan@napier.ac.uk

 

Bright Red Triangle

Head of Bright Red Triangle: Nick Fannin – n.fannin@napier.ac.uk
Business Advisor: Wendy Wu – w.wu2@napier.ac.uk
Business Advisor: Pete McLean – p.mclean@napier.ac.uk
Business Advisor: Victoria Bradley - v.bradley@napier.ac.uk
Business Engagement & Communications Manager: Kendra Byers - k.byers@napier.ac.uk
BRT Co-ordinator: Vladimir Ivanov – v.ivanov@napier.ac.uk


Our address

Research, Innovation and Enterprise (RIE)
Edinburgh Napier University
Room H18, Merchiston Campus
10 Colinton Road
Edinburgh EH10 5DT

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
​​​