• Home
  • Login
  • Welcome to the Staff Intranet
YOU ARE HERE: Skip Navigation LinksEdinburgh Napier Staff Intranet > Service Depts > Governance & Compliance > Who's Who in Governance & Compliance

Who's Who in Governance & Compliance


​Please note that Governance and Compliance staff are currenly working remotely, and can be most reliably contacted by email.


David Cloy, University Secretary

David is responsible for leading professional services in a range of corporate governance and compliance areas which support the University, its governing body and other key stakeholders to enable delivery of the strategy and to fulfil statutory obligations.

 

David is Secretary to the University Court and Secretary to the Academic Board.

 

Additional responsibilities include acting as the University Safety Officer and chairing the University Health & Safety Committee, chairing the University's Risk & Resilience Committee, acting as the University's GDPR Data Protection Officer, serving as a Director and the Company Secretary for Napier University Ventures Limited (the University's commercial trading company), and being a trustee of the Edinburgh Napier University Development Trust.  His contact details are:

(0131) 455 6471

D.Cloy@napier.ac.uk

Room 6.B.22, Sighthill Campus

 

Governance Services

 

Contact us:

Central Governance Services Email: governance@napier.ac.uk

Data Protection: dataprotection@napier.ac.uk

Freedom of Information: foi@napier.ac.uk

Complaints: complaints@napier.ac.uk

 

Diana Watt, Information Governance Manager

Diana is responsible for developing and supporting a culture of information compliance and good records management practice across the University. This includes developing, implementing and supporting systems and practices which facilitate compliance with the requirements of the Data Protection Act 2018, GDPR, Freedom of Information (Scotland) Act and Environmental Information (Scotland) Regulations 2004.  Her contact details are:

(0131) 455 6257

D.Watt@napier.ac.uk

Room 6.B.22, Sighthill Campus

 

Colin Steen, Governance Officer (Senior Committee Support)

Colin is the Governance Officer for the University Leadership Team, Senior Managers' Forum, Finance & Property Committee and Honorary Awards Committee, responsible for: managing the forward planning of meetings; agenda and papers preparation; minute publication and records management associated with these meetings.  His contact details are:

(0131) 455 6495

C.Steen@napier.ac.uk

Room 6.B.22, Sighthill Campus

 

Maureen Masson, Governance Officer (Risk & Governance)

(0131) 455 6408

M.Masson@napier.ac.uk

Room 6.B.22, Sighthill Campus


Simon Barnes, Information Governance Adviser

(0131) 455 6255

s.barnes@napier.ac.uk

Room 6.B.22, Sighthill Campus


Shona Dunning, Information Governance Adviser

Shona supports the University's Information Governance activities through providing advice and guidance on Data Protection and Freedom of Information compliance and on Records Management including retention schedules. Her contact details are:​

(0131) 455 6359

s.dunning@napier.ac.uk

Room 6.B.22, Sighthill Campus

 

Mark Mackay, Administrative Assistant

Mark provides general administrative support to the team, including the administration of committees including Court and Academic Board and assistance with Data Protection Act compliance and enquiries. Mark also creates and maintains the department's intranet and sharepoint sites and prepares and maintains the University's annual calendars of meetings and key dates. His contact details are:

(0131) 455 6536

M.Mackay2@napier.ac.uk

Room 6.B.22​, Sighthill Campus

 

Richard Bews, Appeals, Complaints & Conduct Manager

Richard is responsible for providing procedural advice and information to students and staff with regard to any matters relating to academic appeals, complaints (other than those made by staff) and both student academic and non-academic misconduct issues. Richard acts as clerk for meetings of the Academic Appeals Panel, University Academic Conduct Committee and University Disciplinary Committee as well as being the University’s nominated contact for the Scottish Public Services Ombudsman.  His contact details are:

(0131) 455 2396

r.bews@napier.ac.uk

Room 6.B.22, Sighthill Campus

 

Health & Safety

Contact Us:

Central Health & Safety Email: safetyoffice@napier.ac.uk

 

Liz Young, Head of Health & Safety

(0131) 455 6373

l.young@napier.ac.uk

 

Sean Hughes, Health & Safety Adviser

(0131) 455 6371

s.hughes@napier.ac.uk

 

Tommy Thom, Fire Safety Officer (p/t Wed/Thurs)

(0131) 455 6375

t.thom@napier.ac.uk

 

Kevin Weir, Fire Safety Adviser (p/t Mon/Tues/Wed)

(0131) 455 3213

K.Weir@napier.ac.uk

 

Ruth Thin, Health & Safety Co-ordinator

(0131) 455 6377

r.thin@napier.ac.uk

     
​​​