• Home
  • Login
  • Welcome to the Staff Intranet

Court of Edinburgh Napier University

Statue of John Napier at Craighouse"The Court" means the Court of Edinburgh Napier University, being the governing body constituted in 1993 by Statutory Instrument (as amended in 2007 and re-titled in 2009 through the Edinburgh Napier University Order of Council). The full responsibilities of the Court are set out in the Statement of Primary Responsibilities.

The Court normally has four scheduled meetings per year as well as an annual strategy event with the University senior management team.

Short reports of business discussed at meetings of Court since 2007 will be made available shortly.

Members of University staff can apply via GovernanceServices to observe Court meetings following the relevant Policy and Procedures.

Following a comprehensive review of governance in 2005, revisions were proposed to the Constitution of Court and these took effect from 1 August 2007 following the agreement by Privy Council and the Scottish Parliament of the 2007 Order of Council. The new Constitution is given in paragraph 1(3) of the Order.

Brief biographies of individual members of Court are available in the Member Biographies section, and are also given in Appendix 9 of the Court Handbook.

Craiglockhart CampusPrior to 1993, Napier Polytechnic and its predecessor institutions had Boards of Governors. Information on these Boards is not currently available on-line.

The Court has a number of Standing Committees, some of which have Sub-Committees. In addition it establishes working groups and other bodies from time to time, charged with specific and time-limited tasks.

The meeting dates of University Court and its committees can be found on the University Calendars of Meetings and Events.