• Home
  • Login
  • Welcome to the Staff Intranet
YOU ARE HERE: Skip Navigation LinksEdinburgh Napier Staff Intranet > Service Depts > Department of Learning and Teaching Enhancement > NTFS (National Teaching Fellowship Scheme) and CATE (Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence)

The National ​Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS)


A National Teaching Fellowship is widely regarded as the most prestigious award in higher education learning and ​teaching in the UK, and in 2018 the scheme was opened to Scottish higher education providers. This competitive award has been designed to celebrate and recognise individuals who have made an outstanding impact on student outcomes and the teaching profession in higher education and is organised by AdvanceHE. Up to 55 awards are made each year.


Each university can nominate up to three applicants per annum.


To date, Edinburgh Napier has been hugely successful in gaining these awards.

Dr Eva Malone.jpg

Eva Malone
(School of Applied Sciences)
2021 Winner






Jackie Brodie
(Business School)
2019 Winner




Professor Mark Huxham (School of Applied Sciences)

Mark Huxham
(School of Applied Sciences)
2018 Winner

Michelle O'Reilly (School of Health and Social Care)

Michelle O'Reilly
(School of Health & Social Care)
2018 Winner

Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE)


COLLABORATIVE AWARD FOR TEACHING EXCELLENCE LOGOThe purpose of the Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE) is to recognise and celebrate collaborative work that has had a demonstrable impact on teaching and learning. Introduced in 2016, the scheme highlights the key role that teamwork plays in higher education. Each award recognises a team which has enabled a change in practice for colleagues or students at an institutional or discipline level. There is no limit on the size of the team.


Each university can only nominate one team per year.


In 2019, The Students as Colleagues Team, led by Mark Huxham, was a successful CATE winner.


From left to right: Jenny Scoles, Errol Rivera, Rachel Murray, Mo Andrew, Mark HuxhamKimberly Wilder


​​Preparing for NTFS or CATE


Please note that Advance HE hopes that the NTFS and CATE schemes will run again in a similar format going forward, although timescales and details are subject to alteration and adjustment year-on-year.


Interested colleagues should also note that the process of gaining nomination and developing a claim for these awards is substantial and lengthy.


We start the planning process as early as possible (typically before Advance HE officially launches the scheme and publishes full details) so that our colleagues are offered the best possible chance of similar success.


Expressions of Interest


Individuals wishing to express an interest in applying for NTFS nomination or the nomination to lead a CATE should email s.illingworth@napier.ac.uk. Please specify in your email if you are interested in either NTF or CATE.


Initially, please familiarise yourself with further information about each scheme, by accessing the available resources, guidance and support materials below. Keep an eye out for publicity, including Advance HE updates and DLTE support sessions!


Further information for potential applicants to NTFS or CATE >>​