• Home
  • Login
  • Welcome to the Staff Intranet

Membership of Academic Board

Session 2020/21


Ex officio Members

Principal & Vice-Chancellor [Convenor]

Professor Andrea Nolan


Senior Vice-Principal (Deputy Vice-Chancellor)[Vice Convenor]




Professor Nick Antonopoulos (Vice Principal, Research and Innovation)

Naomi Graham (Vice-Principal, International)

Professor Alyson Tobin (Vice-Principal, Learning & Teaching)


Assistant Principal



Deans of School and the University


Deans of School

Dr Gary Hutchison, School of Applied Sciences

Dr Diane Maclean, School of Arts and Creative Industries

Gail Boag, Business School

Michael Greenhalgh, School of Computing and School of Engineering & the Built Environment (Interim)

Professor Alison Machin, School of Health & Social Care


Senior Officer Responsible for Student Administration and Support

Dr Steven Logie


Student Representatives

The President of Edinburgh Napier Students' Association, or a sabbatical officer of ENSA nominated by the President

Mr Ankit Duggal (ENSA President)


One student from each campus elected by ENSA


Mr Muhammad Fahad Siddiqui



Mr Sai Kowshik Uppalapati



Mr Prashant Goyal​


Elected Members

Two members of academic staff elected by and from each School

School of Applied Sciences

Dr Samantha Campbell Casey

Dr Graham Wright


School of Arts & Creative Industries

Dr John Hails

Dr Kirsten MacLeod


Business School

Dr Luca Mora

Dr Xavier Pierron


School of Computing

Dr Simon Wells

Dr Neil Urquhart


School of Engineering & the Built Environment

Dr Achille Fonzone

Mike Thomson


School of Health & Social Care

Dr Catherine Mahoney

Dr Kirstin Stuart James


Two members elected by and from the Professoriate

Prof Alison McCleery

Prof Austyn Snowden


Two members elected by and from the School Heads of Learning & Teaching

Dr Jacqueline Brodie

To be confirmed


Two members elected by and from the School Heads of Research

Prof Peter Barlow

Dr Christof Backhaus


Two members elected by and from the Senior Officers Responsible for Quality Enhancement

Dr Peter Chapman

Dr Melanie Leggate



In Attendance

University Secretary

David Cloy

Senior Officer Responsible for Information Services

Claire Taylor


Clerk to the Committee

Dr Colin Steen, Governance Services





Last update at 01 October 2020