• Home
  • Login
  • Welcome to the Staff Intranet
 

The University Research Integrity Committee

 

The University Research Integrity Committee oversees governance policies, procedures and practices across the University.

 

Please contact the clerk should you have a query or issue concerning research Integrity.

 

Approval for ethics applications is devolved to school level. For more information regarding procedures related to your associated school, please contact your School Research Integrity Lead:

 

Business School: Dr Lorna Gillies, l.gillies@napier.ac.uk
SAS: Dr Mark Ross, M.Ross@napier.ac.uk (integrity), Dr Shane Horgan, S.Horgan2@napier.ac.uk (ethics)
SH&SC: Dr Coral Hanson, c.hanson@napier.ac.uk
SOC: Prof. Pat Langdon, p.langdon@napier.ac.uk covering for Gemma Webster, G.Webster@napier.ac.uk
SACI: Dr Stevie Marsden, S.Marsden@napier.ac.uk
SEBE: Prof. Pat Langdon, p.langdon@napier.ac.uk
Education Research: Prof Sally Smith, s.smith@napier.ac.uk

 

Cross University Ethical Approval Process

 

Cross Uni applications
For collaborative applications between multiple schools (including DLTE) applications should be created in Worktribe by project lead. The application will then be sent to their School Committee in Worktribe. When the committee requires discipline specific review from the other School(s) the committee convenor contacts the other school ethics convenor(s) to identify suitable potential reviewers from their committee.

 

The main committee convenor selects these reviewers on the review tab. Review is completed in the usual way.

 

Escalated applications
If a school has an application which is deemed to be too risky or they can't make a decision due to lack of expertise in the area this can be escalated to the university research integrity committee for consideration.

 

Timescale for application review

 

Action

Timescale

Comments

Application to be reviewed

2 weeks

 

Resubmission

Within 2 weeks

Changes to be highlighted by applicant

Final Approval

Within 1 week

 

Overall time scale for Approval

3-4 weeks

 

 
​​​​​​​